West Africa

Map references:

923,770 sq km

slightly more than twice the size of California

Border Countries:
To the west Benin Republic, to the east Cameroon, to the north Chad and Niger, to the south the Gulf of Guinea

853 km

Varies from equatorial in south, tropical in center, to arid in north

Southern lowlands merge into central hills and plateaus; mountains in southeast, and plains in the North

Elevation Extremes:
lowest point: Atlantic Ocean 0 m highest point. Chappal Waddi 2,419 m

Natural Resources:
crude oil (petroleum), tin, columbite, iron ore, coal, limestone, lead, zinc, natural gas, gold, bauxite, bitumen, gypsum etc.

Naira (100k = 1 Naira)
N409 to $1 (conversion)
Pictures of Nigerian Currency
Pictures of Nigerian Stamps

Land use:
arable land: 33%, permanent crops: 3%, permanent pastures: 44%, forests and woodland: 12%, other: 8% (1993 est.)

Irrigated land:
9,570 sq km (1993 est.)

Natural hazards:
periodic droughts

206,532,242 (July 2019 est.)

Population growth rate:
2.96% (1998 est.)

Major ethnic groups:
Hausa, Ibo, Yoruba, Fulani, Kanuri, Ibibio, Ijaw, Tiv

Islam , Christianity, Traditional beliefs

Language (Major):
English (official), Hausa, Igbo, Yoruba,

Country name:
Federal Republic of Nigeria; Nigeria (in short)


1 October 1960 (from the United Kingdom)

National holidays:
Independence Day, 1 October
New Year Day, 1 January
Good Friday
Easter Monday
Worker’s Day, 1 May
Children’s Day 27, May (for children only)
Democracy Day, 12 June

Christmas day, 25 December
Boxing Day, 26 December

Democracy, Presidential System of Government

National Capital:

Administrative Divisions:
36 states and Federal Capital territory; Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Edo, Enugu, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Ekiti, Gombe, Nassarawa, Zamfara and Abuja, 776 (counties)

1999 constitution

Legal System:
English common law, Islamic law, and traditional customs

Political Parties:

There are over 91 registered political parties in Nigeria registered under the Independent National Electoral Commission


Universal Adult (18 years of age)

Executive Branch:
President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, His Excellency Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR.; Federal Executive Council (Council of Ministers)

Legislative Branch:
Bicameral National Assembly, comprising a Senate – 109 Members; House of Representatives – 360 Members

Judicial Branch (Federal Level):
Supreme Court, Federal Court of Appeal, Federal High court

Educational System:
6 years primary education
3 years junior secondary education
3 years senior secondary education
4 years post secondary education

All tropical crops – cocoa, rubber, palm oil, yam, cassava, vegetable, rice, fruits, maize, cotton, groundnut, potatoes, sorghum, sugar cane, etc.

African Champion – 2013
World Champion (Maiden Edition of under 17 championship in China 1985)
Runners Up (Second Edition in Canada 1987)
FIFA Under 17 World Cup — 1993

Olympic Football Champion (Atlanta) — 1996
FIFA Under 17 World Cup — 2007
FIFA Under 17 World Cup — 2013

Beauty Champion:
Miss World (2001) — Miss Agbani Darego (Miss Nigeria)